Makeup, why and how.

Presentation, personal style, tips, how to’s

Makeup, why and how.

Postby Dakini » Sun Jun 29, 2014 5:29 am

I thought I'd make a thread on makeup. It's something which is actually amazingly helpful, yet there's not a lot of discussion on it. I intend it as part tutorial, part discussion, and maybe part me learning something too :)

I'm not a professional makeup artist by any stretch of the imagination. But I have read at least a dozen books on makeup (and forgotten at least 2/3 of what i've read :P ). And I am reasonably pro at 'art', and I think that's related & helpful. So, I guess I feel like I'm some limbo between makeup guru and makeup n00b, but probably know enough to be helpful :)

hmmmm, ok, first WHY MAKEUP?
(tldr: To look good silly!)
long answer... even infants respond more positively to faces with more distinctly visible features (ie: makeup), and there are some very highbrow studies which show the efficacy of makeup in changing how people perceive and respond to you. Also, makeup levels the playing field between those who are born looking perfect, and those who need to twist reality's arm to pull off the illusion. And who more needs to do that than us eh?

actually that wasn't very long at all. not for me... ok, some visual elaboration:

some people (guys) claim that you don't need any makeup... they are full of crap. What they *mean* when they say that, is that super heavy makeup, applied unskillfully, looks bad. They generally completely fail to notice makeup when it is used correctly, even if it's fairly heavy.

even Angelina Jolie needs makeup to look her best..

makeup really changes how you look, and how people will respond to your appearance:

convinced yet?

cuz if not, I have about 20 more images like the ones above... don't make me wear out the img linker :P

And makeup is not something just for people in their 20's...
it's for every woman.

if you are still not convinced of the virtues of makeup...
nuff said